63 Records I Liked This Year

November 21, 2009

It’s the first list I’ll post, only because it’s big. And plus because I hope to have a huge end of the year Top 10 Albums of 2009 blowout. I know you’ll be there because you totally care about music, right? And you totally want to party? Sure. There are many, many more records I listened to and liked this year but they either 1.) were from 2008 and I hoped I could add them to this but I realized they were from December 2008 or even maybe November 2008 or 2.) they were overlooked completely at an earlier time (perhaps 2006) and I grew to love them in 2009 or 3.) they were from 1978-2008. There were many other records I listened to this year that were totally overhyped – I am just glad I won’t hear about Animal Collective or Dirty Projectors next year and I can start fresh in 2010 – and just didn’t make the cut but will be most likely make the cut during Rob’s New Year’s Hard Drive Cleaning! Although maybe I can devote a later post to how much I greatly like the songs and accompanying videos for both Animal Collective’s “In the Flowers” and Dirty Projectors’ “Stillness Is the Move.”

In the end, it pains me a great deal that I could not include records such as Bruce Springsteen’s Darkness at the Edge of Town and Hüsker Dü’s Warehouse: Songs and Stories and also finally discovering the greatness of London Calling, but alas, they are not of 2009, and also, I am not my dad. Voila:

…And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead – Century of Self
A Place to Bury Strangers – Exploding Head
Antony and the Johnsons – The Crying Light
Arctic Monkeys – Humbug
Bat for Lashes – Two Suns
The Big Pink – A Brief History of Love
Blitzen Trapper – Black River Killer EP
Bon Iver – Blood Band EP
Brother Ali – Us
The Cribs – Ignore the Ignorant
Crocodiles – Summer of Hate
Dan Deacon – Bromst
The Dead Weather – Horehound
Death Cab for Cutie – The Open Door EP
The Decemberists – The Hazards of Love
Dinosaur Jr. – Farm
Doves – Kingdom of Rust
The Drums – Summertime! EP
The Flaming Lips – Embryonic
Florence & The Machine – Lungs
Green Day – 21st Century Breakdown
Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
Heartless Bastards – The Mountain
The Hold Steady – A Positive Rage
The Horrors – Primary Colours
Japandroids – Post-Nothing
Jay Reatard – Watch Me Fall
Julian Casablancas – Phrazes for the Young
Jónsi & Alex – Riceboy Sleeps
Karen O and the Kids – Where the Wild Things Are Soundtrack
Kelly Clarkson – All I Ever Wanted
The Killers – Live at Albert Hall
The Low Anthem – Oh My God, Charlie Darwin
M. Ward – Hold Time
Mary Onettes – Islands
Mastodon – Crack the Skye
Megafaun – Gather, Form & Fly
Moby – Wait for Me
Monsters of Folk
Morrissey – Years of Refusal
Nirvana – Live at Reading 1992
The Pains of Being Pure at Heart
The Pains of Being Pure at Heart – Higher Than the Stars EP
Passion Pit – Manners
Pearl Jam – Backspacer
Pete Doherty – Grace/Wastelands
Phantogram – Eyelid Movies
Rancid – Let the Dominoes Fall
The Raveonettes – In and Out of Control
Regina Spektor – Far
The Riverboat Gamblers – Underneath the Owl
Rob Thomas – Cradlesong
Silversun Pickups – Swoon
Sunset Rubdown – Dragonslayer
The Swell Season – Strict Joy
Them Crooked Vultures
Thursday – Common Existence
Various Artists – New Moon Soundtrack
Various Artists – We Are the Night
Wussy
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – It’s Blitz!
Yim Yames – Tribute To (George Harrison)
The xx

2 Responses to “63 Records I Liked This Year”

  1. Bryan said

    How could you not have Tegan and Sara’s Sainthood on here? It was by far my favorite cd of 2009.

Leave a Reply

